Post new topic   Reply to topic
Author Message
Gregory123
21



Joined: Nov 04, 2005
Posts: 4

Hello,

I develop quite a large project in Eclipse. I have a big problem with "Resource is out of Sync with file system". I also use ClearCase view as the sources location. Using "Refresh" option for project resulted only one resource file was updated/synchornized. As I have about 200 resource/non java files - what can I do ? Is there any possibility to reset the sync info? Where Eclipse stores info/copies of resource files ? Maybe a simpledeletion of unsynchronized files would help ? Could You please explain me how the resources are handled in eclipse ?
Please help me. I will go crazy refreshing the project 200 times.

with best regards,
Grzegorz
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-rkalla
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jan 06, 2004
Posts: 23818

What is your Eclipse Build ID? (Help > About)
What is your MyEclipse Build ID? (Window > Prefs > MyEclipse)

What kind of project is this? (Java Project, Web Project, Enterprise Project, etc.)

Are you running any Ant scripts as part of the Builders for this project? Do you frequently make use of an Ant script to build portions of this project?

If you do a Project > Clean, and rebuild the project, does the problem fix itself?

_________________
Riyad
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Gregory123
2



Joined: Nov 04, 2005
Posts: 4

Hello,

my Eclipse build is:
Version: 3.0.1
Build id: 200409161125

This is Java Project, and I run Ant script to switch beetween my project develop lines. This ant cscript change Clear Case config spec. This let me see proper versions of my project source(only java) files. The problem occured after such a line chage, but I don't know why there was a problem with wiev private files, which shouldn't changed.

>>>>If you do a Project > Clean, and rebuild the project, does the problem fix itself?
I did clean but it exited during copying the resources to the ouptu folder. After refresh the copying resourdces process starts again, but only one file was in fact refreshed. After next refresh - next file was ok. But since I have about 200 local files (keep files and backup local copis), it is not the sloution for me.

Do You have any idea how to fix it ?

with best regards,
Grzegorz
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-rkalla
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jan 06, 2004
Posts: 23818

Grzegorz,
Are you not even using MyEclipse? You didn't answer my Build ID question and the problems you are describing here are straight-eclipse.


I will add that Eclipse requires that it's view of the local file system stay in sync, if you are constantly running out-of-process tasks that are changing anything on the file system you will always get these issues. However there are two things you can do to fix this, 1 is to turn on the automatic refreshing, that is under Window > Prefs > General > Workspace. The second is (I believe) a setting for Ant scripts that you can tell it to refresh the workspace after execution. Both of these will help avoid the problem you are having.

_________________
Riyad
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-rkalla
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jan 06, 2004
Posts: 23818

Moving to OT > Soft Dev

_________________
Riyad
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Gregory123
22



Joined: Nov 04, 2005
Posts: 4

Hello,

yes, I don't use MyEclipse yet. I haven't enough time to check its posiibilities and features. Besides I just need a good java project developing environment, and I think pure Eclipse is enough to this task, isn't it ?

Besides I agree that Eclipse have to have sync view to local file system but why the refresh doesn't work properly? It refreshes/synchronizes only one file - it doesn't really refresh all sources but only the one that caused the problem, and it would be ok if the copying resources to output filr process wouldn't stop at first problem occurance and before trying to copy all rest of sources.

Please let me know Your comments.

I will try how the automatic refresh will work.
I will also install and check MyEclipse :)

with best reagrds,
Grzegorz
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
® 2014 - Genuitec, LLC.