MyEclipse Forums
This thread has been locked & this forum has been archived.
Please post new topics to General Development
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
shankara98
Post subject: Cannot debug with breakpoint in Weblogic 7.0 [Closed]  PostPosted: Jul 24, 2003 - 06:19 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jul 22, 2003
Posts: 12

I downloaded GA 2.5 and am trying out the example HelloWorld.jsp and HelloWorldServlet.

I'm running Eclipse 2.1.1, Weblogic 7.0, Tomcat 4.1, and JDK 1.3.1_07.

On Tomcat I could run the HelloWorldServlet in debug mode with breakpoints and it worked fine.

On Weblogic I cannot seem to run the examples in debug mode with breakpoints. If I insert a breakpoint either in the jsp or in the servlet, it doesn't stop at the breakpoint. The browser also seems to hang with no response. If i remove the breakpoint and try the example again, it seems to run fine. I have read other responses from Scott about watching out for the Debug perspective in Eclipse.

I am also seeing this error (on the Eclipse console) when launching Weblogic:

java.lang.IncompatibleClassChangeError
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.debug.core.model.JDIDebugTarget.findThread(JDIDebugTarget.java:775)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.debug.core.model.JDIDebugTarget$ThreadStartHandler.handleEvent(JDIDebugTarget.java:1666)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.debug.core.EventDispatcher.dispatch(EventDispatcher.java:136)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.debug.core.EventDispatcher.run(EventDispatcher.java:214)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:479)


I noticed this behavior in both Eclipse 2.1 and Eclipse 2.1.1

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ashok
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 24, 2003 - 07:14 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

Ashok,

This is a JDK interaction problem between your JDK and the Eclipse debug tooling. If you install JDK 1.4.1_03 and launch weblogic with that, you should be fine.

--Scott
MyEclipse Support

_________________
--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
shankara98
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 24, 2003 - 10:01 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jul 22, 2003
Posts: 12

Scott,

Per your suggestion I tried using JDK 1.4.2 with Eclipse 2.1 and Weblogic 7.0

I'm still having the same problem with breakpoints, although the hot swapping is working fine.

I'm still getting the same error stack trace when I launch Weblogic.

One more thing I noticed is that when I stop Weblogic, the 'Remove All Terminated' button in eclipse is not enabled. This doesn't happen when I'm working with Tomcat.

Thanks,

Ashok
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 25, 2003 - 04:42 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

Ashok,

There are a couple of known problem using JDK 1.4.2 with the Eclipse debugger and has been posted on the Eclipse newsgroups. It's much safer to stick with 1.4.1_03 until the kinks get shaken out.

Update to this specific JDK and you should be fine, since this is the one we do all our testing on.

--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits