MyEclipse Forums
This thread has been locked & this forum has been archived.
Please post new topics to General Development
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
TheDan666
Post subject: myeclipse.exe stuck at 50% CPU utilization while nothing  PostPosted: Dec 01, 2011 - 05:41 PM



Joined: Dec 01, 2011
Posts: 5

I've never had any issues with MyEclipse until yeterday. Currently running MyEclipse 8.6.1. Yesterday I noticed that after opening MyEclipse my CPU was stuck hovering at 50% for myeclipse.exe. This with Eclipse just sitting there doing nothing. Not working on any files or projects. The Mem Usage in Windows Task Manager remains constant at 665,912 K though.

I've tried changing the vmargs with different memory settings and even restarted my computer. What I do notice is that the Java heap monitor seems to be continually in motion and I assume is a non-stop state of garbage collection. This is my current settings:

-startup
../Common/plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.0.201.R35x_v20090715.jar
--launcher.library
../Common/plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.0.200.v20090519
-install
C:/Program Files/Genuitec/MyEclipse-8.6
-vm
C:/Program Files/Genuitec/Common/binary/com.sun.java.jdk.win32.x86_1.6.0.013/jre/bin/client/jvm.dll
-configuration
configuration
-vmargs
-Xmx512m
-XX:MaxPermSize=256m
-XX:ReservedCodeCacheSize=64m


Any ideas? Again, this is totally out of the blue and I can't point to anything on my machine that has changed that should have affected this.

Thanks,
Chris
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
TheDan666
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 01, 2011 - 05:48 PM



Joined: Dec 01, 2011
Posts: 5

Wow, that was weird. I went in to preferences and disabled the option "Always run in background" then re-enabled it and now the CPU usage is down to 0. I guess problem solved?

--Chris
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 05, 2011 - 08:20 AM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2494

TheDan666 ,

Glad that the problem is solved.
Please take a look at this FAQ for performance issues :
http://myeclipseide.com/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t-27215.html

I am afraid I cannot give any explanation to why it has fixed after re-enabling the "Always run in background". If you see the issue again, please post it for us to help investigate the issue.

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
TheDan666
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 05, 2011 - 02:55 PM



Joined: Dec 01, 2011
Posts: 5

Yes, it was quite weird. The only thing I can think of is that toggling that option re-initalized garbage collection and that unstuck whatever bizarre state MyEclipse got itself into. Things are still running fine on my machine so all's well that ends well.

--The Dan
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 06, 2011 - 08:05 AM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2494

TheDan666 ,

Glad that it is working fine.
Do let us know if you have any issues.

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
TheDan666
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 11, 2012 - 08:51 PM



Joined: Dec 01, 2011
Posts: 5

It's now doing the same behavior as before out of the blue. The fix I found the first time doesn't seem to be doing anything. For now I've had to set it use only 1 CPU and it's pegging that one at 100%. Just non-stop GC activity while nothing is even happening. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Chris
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 12, 2012 - 05:47 AM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2494

Chris,

Sorry that you are seeing this issue with MyEclipse.

Can you please make changes to the myeclipse.ini file as suggested in this FAQ : http://myeclipseide.com/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t-27215.html ?

Let us know how this works for you.

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
TheDan666
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 12, 2012 - 09:13 PM



Joined: Dec 01, 2011
Posts: 5

I actually just got a new machine today so I'm setting it up with MyEclipse 10. The old computer absolutely sucked and I'm not sure how much of the issues were general rather than solely MyEclipse's fault. Anyway, hoping for better. Nowhere to go but up.

--Chris
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 13, 2012 - 03:29 AM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2494

Chris,

Do let us know if you see any issues.
Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits