MyEclipse Forums
This thread has been locked & this forum has been archived.
Please post new topics to Java EE Development (EJB, JSP, Struts, XDoclet, etc.)
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
jgprospect
Post subject: Create Web Service gives Project must be a JEE 5 web project  PostPosted: Apr 22, 2010 - 05:45 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Apr 22, 2010
Posts: 2

When I right-click a WSDL, select MyEclipse, select New Web Service, with JAX-WS selected as the framework, at the top of the dialog box it has a red dot and the message " Project must be a JEE 5 web project". My installation details are below. I have MyEclipse 8.5 with Java 1.6. My project is a Web project.

I don't know how to get around this issue so I can generate the webservice.

Thanks for any help!
Johnny


*** Date:
Thursday, April 22, 2010 11:39:41 AM CDT

** System properties:
OS=WindowsXP
OS version=5.1.0
Java version=1.6.0_13


*** MyEclipse details:
MyEclipse Enterprise Workbench
Version: 8.5
Build id: 8.5-20100319


*** Eclipse details:
MyEclipse Enterprise Workbench

Version: 8.5
Build id: 8.5-20100319
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-shalini
Post subject: RE: Create Web Service gives Project must be a JEE 5 web pro  PostPosted: Apr 23, 2010 - 11:36 AM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: May 18, 2009
Posts: 1532

Johnny,
JAX-WS support is only available for Java EE 5 or higher web projects. As a work around, you should create a web project that is J2EE compliant.
You can refer to the following tutorials for further reference -
1. http://www.myeclipseide.com/documentation/quickstarts/webservices_jaxws/
2. http://www.myeclipseide.com/documentation/quickstarts/webprojects/#creating_web_project
Let me know if that helps

_________________
Shalini
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jgprospect
Post subject:   PostPosted: Apr 23, 2010 - 01:44 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Apr 22, 2010
Posts: 2

Shalini,
Thanks for the reply. I have created a web project from scratch and it worked correctly.

I'm working with a web project that was already created and need to add a web service to it. The following is from .mymetadata. How can I tell what the web service generator doesn't like?

Thanks,
Johnny


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<project-module
type="WEB"
name="IDM_IF2"
id="myeclipse.1113836400479"
context-root="/idm"
j2ee-spec="1.5"
archive="IDM_IF2.war">
<attributes>
<attribute name="webrootdir" value="/WebRoot" />
</attributes>
</project-module>
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-shalini
Post subject:   PostPosted: Apr 26, 2010 - 05:46 AM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: May 18, 2009
Posts: 1532

Johnny,
Its easier to create an x-fire web service that is compatible with 1.4 instead of changing the current projects metadata and libraries.
Please refer to the following link on xfire webservices -
http://www.myeclipseide.com/documentation/quickstarts/webservices/

Let me know if that helps.

_________________
Shalini
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
c3web
Post subject:   PostPosted: Aug 09, 2011 - 06:27 PM



Joined: Aug 09, 2011
Posts: 1

I solved this problem just adding the JAX-WS 2.1 Runtime Libraries and JAX-WS 2.1 API LIbraries to classpath.

C3Web
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: Aug 10, 2011 - 11:23 AM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2499

c3web ,

Thank you for posting your findings.
Do let us know if you have any other issues.

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Azrek
Post subject: Please Clarify  PostPosted: May 13, 2012 - 07:41 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 5

I'm very new to Eclipse.

Can you please clarify what you did when you say:

you added JAX-WS 2.1 Runtime Libraries and JAX-WS 2.1 API LIbraries to classpath.

Where exactly is that?

I'm getting the same error but I can see that these libraries are already in my project build path. And, my .classpath file has the following:


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<classpath>
<classpathentry kind="src" path="src"/>
<classpathentry kind="src" path="emailTemplates"/>
<classpathentry kind="src" path="workflows"/>
<classpathentry kind="con" path="melibrary.com.genuitec.eclipse.j2eedt.core.MYECLIPSE_JAVAEE_5_CONTAINER"/>
<classpathentry exported="true" kind="con" path="melibrary.com.genuitec.eclipse.ws.xfire.MYECLIPSE_JAXWS_API"/>
<classpathentry exported="true" kind="con" path="melibrary.com.genuitec.eclipse.ws.xfire.MYECLIPSE_METRO_IMPL"/>
<classpathentry kind="var" path="APP_SERVER/plugins/com.ibm.ws.runtime.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="var" path="APP_SERVER/plugins/org.eclipse.emf.common.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="var" path="APP_SERVER/plugins/org.eclipse.emf.commonj.sdo.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="var" path="APP_SERVER/plugins/org.eclipse.emf.ecore.change.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="var" path="APP_SERVER/plugins/com.ibm.ws.jpa.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="con" path="org.eclipse.jst.j2ee.internal.module.container">
<accessrules>
<accessrule kind="accessible" pattern="*.*"/>
</accessrules>
</classpathentry>
<classpathentry kind="lib" path="lib/esapi-2.0.1.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="lib" path="lib/oscore-2.2.5.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="lib" path="lib/osworkflow-2.8.0.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="lib" path="lib/propertyset-1.4.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="lib" path="lib/xmlpull-1.1.3.1.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="lib" path="lib/xpp3_min-1.1.4c.jar"/>
<classpathentry kind="lib" path="lib/xstream-1.4.1.jar"/>
<classpathentry exported="true" kind="lib" path="lib/commons-lang3-3.0.1.jar">
<attributes>
<attribute name="org.eclipse.jst.component.dependency" value="../"/>
</attributes>
</classpathentry>
<classpathentry kind="con" path="org.eclipse.jdt.launching.JRE_CONTAINER/org.eclipse.jdt.internal.debug.ui.launcher.StandardVMType/J2SE-1.5">
<attributes>
<attribute name="owner.project.facets" value="java"/>
</attributes>
</classpathentry>
<classpathentry kind="output" path="classes"/>
</classpath>

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 14, 2012 - 08:11 AM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2499

ghada,

Sorry that you are seeing this issue.

Can you answer some more questions for us ?

1. Can you share the Installation Details from MyEclipse > Installation Summary > Installation Details ?

2. Can you clarify if you have checked the suggestions listed above by support-shalini ?

3. Can you also create a new web project and check if the issue exists?

4. Please share with us the steps you are following to help us replicate the issue at our end.

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Azrek
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 14, 2012 - 08:55 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 5

Hi,

Thank you for the reply.

Please find the attached installation file.

I was able to create a new web service using the one of the examples/tutorials. It worked fine and I did not have the issue.

Please find the screen shots of web service example. As you can see, xFire is deprecated and no longer appears in MyEclipse.

The project that I'm having trouble with was previously created and I need to add a new web service to it. The new class has been created but I just can't create a web service.

Thanks for you help.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Azrek
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 14, 2012 - 09:21 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 5

Sorry, I forgot to mention the steps I take to create the issue:

1. Select the new class I created - which will form the basis of the web service.
2. From the menu, select File/New/Web Service
3. Click Next
4. The error appears on the next page - which I attached a screen shot.

Please note that other web services were created in this project. There are over 3 web services that were created with this project by other contractors.

Thanks,
Ghada
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 15, 2012 - 11:29 AM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2499

Ghada,

Thank you for the screenshots.To create a Web Service, the project has to be a Java EE 5 or higher web project. In your case the project is an EJB project instead of a web project. The project needs to be a web project, producing a web application, to create a web service.

Can you please verify that the web services that you mentioned created earlier, are in CodsDslEJB project ?

Can you also attach a screenshot which verifies the same for us to help get a visual ?

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Azrek
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 16, 2012 - 12:58 AM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 5

It looks like I was greatly mistaken.

So, how do I go about creating a WSDL from an EJB project.

I found this link but it doesn't really specify the steps of how to go about doing it.

http://www.myeclipseide.com/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t-25703.html

Is there a tutorial or instructions somewhere that I may follow?

Thanks.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 16, 2012 - 12:19 PM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2499

Azrek,

Are you trying to generate from an ordinary class that is in the EJB project ?

If yes then you can make the EJB project as dependent to a web project (new webservice project) and can be used to generate the web service.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Azrek
Post subject:   PostPosted: May 16, 2012 - 03:10 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: May 13, 2012
Posts: 5

Yes, that's basically what I'm trying to do. I'll give it a go. Wish me luck!

Thanks for all your help. And, sorry for all the silly questions.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits