MyEclipse Forums
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
trant
Post subject: Missing artifact - I want it to retry!  PostPosted: Jun 14, 2012 - 02:51 AM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Mar 14, 2007
Posts: 46

I setup a Maven project from an existing project and copied over all the files including the new pom.xml.

I hit Run -> Maven package and watched as it took quite a while for it to build - I figured it was downloading repositories. But much to my dismay after a few minutes it came back with errors about missing 10 dependencies -- all the ones in the pom!

I realized I was VPNed into a network which had a proxy, so it was likely a network issue.

I decided to unplug from the VPN and with normal network no proxy I tried again, but its like it didnt even try, it just bam instantly bopped the same 10 missing artifact errors. I think the result of the first attempt is cached, and it never tries again.

I want to force it to retry but I have no idea how. I tried right clicking project and saying Update Snapshots, Update dependencies, editing the pom, shutting down and restarting myeclipse ... it just never retries! It always comes back instantly with missing artifact.

The pom has no special depository configured, and the scope is compile.

I now have to sit here manually installing each one of these - so frustrating! Only then does it work... 8 more to go now...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-joy
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jun 15, 2012 - 07:37 AM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Feb 03, 2009
Posts: 3442

trant,

Sorry to hear you are running into this issue. Could you answer below queries -
1. Open MyEclipse IDE, from menu options click on MyEclipse > Installation Summary > Installation Details > [Copy to Clipboard] and paste the same here.
2. Clear your .log file located at [your workspace dir]/.metadata/.log, replicate the issue and attach file here
3. Could you confirm, if you are behind proxy, have you set the proxy settings here - window > preferences > general > network connections?

Could you try this - remove the "maven-resources-plugin" from the local repository in your system and build your project again. By removing the "maven-resources-plugin" from the local repository and rebuilt, maven would be forced to check the remote sites and update the releases, in this process it should fix the dependency issues.

Let me know how this works for you?

_________________
Joy
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jun 15, 2012 - 11:21 AM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2491

trant,

This appears to be a bug or deficiency in Maven. Please take a look at the first comment of this link :
https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/MAVEN/PluginResolutionException
http://jira.codehaus.org/browse/MNG-4537

Please try the suggestion by support-joy and check if it fixes the issue.

Let us know how it works for you.

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits