MyEclipse Forums
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
gemino
Post subject: JBoss deployment errors really confuse me [Closed]  PostPosted: Jan 12, 2005 - 10:12 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: Dec 26, 2004
Posts: 17

this is not really a problem using myeclipse, more using the deployment finction together with JBoss 4.0.0 or also 4.0.1.

at first I PROMISE i had this application already running without errors and i changed NOTHING, not even deleted a single blank line in the sourcecode. but every time i want to deploy my project jboss does some differnet things. the best case is, if everything works fine. but especially when i redeploy my code or even delete the war file and deploy it new this happens. i know what to do, my only hope is to find somebody who solved this problem. here the cases what happen exactly:

CASE 1: JBoss says web.xml is missing even if the war file is fully deployed
CASE2: JBoss prints a lot of error messages
CASE 3: or the deployment works fine BUT if i want to start the application, JBoss says that the welcome action forward is missing even if there is the forward in the struts config file

i dont want to place the full error.log here but at the following link you find all the messages:

CLICK HERE FOR THE FULL ERROR MESSAGES


i hope someone can help me because its no fin developing applications when these messages occure everytime, even if the project is (in my opinion) 100% correct programmed, and worked already withot errors!!

p.s. maybe it is a deployment problem on my system? i am running windows XP SP2, myeclipse 3.8.3, eclipse 3.0.1. the version control of my project is svn (but the errors also occur when the project order is not unter version control), java sdk version is 1.4_05, jboss version is 4.0.1 (also 4.0.0 does the same)
jboss is running in its standard condiguration, i changed nothing.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gemino
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 12, 2005 - 10:16 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: Dec 26, 2004
Posts: 17

i forgot to write: i am using xampp to run a mysql server, because my project uses hibernate to connect to the databsase

everything runs on my local machine
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gemino
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 13, 2005 - 04:42 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: Dec 26, 2004
Posts: 17

its really strange. just now when i started my jboss server it did the deployment as there had never been errors. but i havent changed the deployed file since yesterday.

please help ! i'm even more confused than yesterday
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-rkalla
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 13, 2005 - 04:53 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jan 06, 2004
Posts: 23818

Moving to OT > Soft Dev.


Do you need a J2EE container? Can't you just use Tomcat? (Only need J2EE if you need EJB and/or read-write JNDI data source or something like that).

_________________
Riyad
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
gemino
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 13, 2005 - 05:04 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: Dec 26, 2004
Posts: 17

i am doing a project using hibernate and struts. this means i also use formbeans etc., theres no way not to use jBoss (or another application server).

maybe another application is in conflict with my jboss, because i've found no one else having such a problem...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-rkalla
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 13, 2005 - 06:42 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jan 06, 2004
Posts: 23818

Quote:
i am doing a project using hibernate and struts. this means i also use formbeans etc., theres no way not to use jBoss

Nothing you listed there requires a J2EE container. The only reason you would need a J2EE container is if you are using EJBs; if you are not using EJBs and are relying on Hibernate for your persistence and Struts Actions and ActionForms for your processing then this can all be done with a servlet conatiner.

_________________
Riyad
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 13, 2005 - 06:48 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

gemino,

regarding your errors:

Case 1: Please verify that web.xml is included in the deployed jar and that jboss-web.xml is also included if you need it.

Case 2: Looks like a problem with the XML parser attempting to pull a DTD to verify your struts configuration file. Please reverify the DTD you're referencing and see if you can pull it using your browser. The issue might have been a transient connection problem to the apache site.

Case 3: Looks like a struts-config.xml configuration error, as stated in the error message.

What I'd suggest is that you take a look at our Struts Quickstart in the Documentation section here:
http://www.myeclipseide.com/ContentExpress-display-ceid-67.html

See if you can go through the example and get it to successfully run on JBoss. This will tell us if the issue is with your JBoss installation or with your particular application's configuration.

_________________
--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
gemino
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 13, 2005 - 07:25 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: Dec 26, 2004
Posts: 17

CASE 2 thats it! the web.xml was there and also the struts.xml was correct. BUT (at the moment i think thats it) when i was disconnected from the internet the DTD files were not found. this caused that the qhole war file was not corredtly deployed.
and these different messages occured on different times because sometimes i deployed my file when i was online and used it when i was offline (with my notebook) and sometimes i deployed it when i was offline and used id offline....

i hope that was the whole thing,..... at the moment it works fine again (as i am connected when i am deploying) ;-)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jan 13, 2005 - 07:27 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

Sounds like a fix. :-)

_________________
--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits