MyEclipse Forums
This thread has been locked & this forum has been archived.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
VJC
Post subject: Why no torent?  PostPosted: Feb 06, 2006 - 10:38 PM

Hi, I'm new to myEclipse, and I have to use it at university, but it's a largedownload at home, so why is there no torrent to speed up the download? Just a suggestion. Thanks
Vijay. :)

Reply with quote Back to top
support-greg
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 06, 2006 - 11:21 PM

We considered doing a torrent but we decided to juse add additional dedicated download servers to make sure we could handle all the download requests. Let us know if you are seeing slow downloads from our download servers. Something may be wrong on our end.

Thanks for your support.

VJC
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 07, 2006 - 11:45 AM

Quote:
et us know if you are seeing slow downloads from our download servers.
That's really why I posted last nite (I'm in the UK), it took me 3hrs to download (from aroung 8pm - 11pm), Eclipse itself only took 20mins using their torrent. I'm on a 512k connection so I felt the download was excessively long, thanks for the quick reply. Vijay.

support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 07, 2006 - 10:01 PM

Vijay,

That's an interesting datapoint for us. We test download speed regularly from locations in the US and they are typically extremely fast. However, it appears there may be some bottlenecks going overseas if that is the speed you're seeing locally. We'll look into the torrent idea a bit more for our upcoming releases. Thanks for the feedback.

qasim
Post subject:   PostPosted: Aug 08, 2006 - 08:55 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

I am downloading from the UK and the download speeds are terrible.

Quite frankly I hate downloading each new version of MyEclipse just because the download speeds are so poor.

I am achieving about 15k/sec on 8Meg line and I can achieve 300k/sec from most download sites.