MyEclipse Forums
This thread has been locked & this forum has been archived.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
VJC
Post subject: Why no torent?  PostPosted: Feb 06, 2006 - 10:38 PM



Joined: Feb 06, 2006
Posts: 2

Hi, I'm new to myEclipse, and I have to use it at university, but it's a largedownload at home, so why is there no torrent to speed up the download? Just a suggestion. Thanks
Vijay. :)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-greg
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 06, 2006 - 11:21 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Mar 31, 2004
Posts: 1611

We considered doing a torrent but we decided to juse add additional dedicated download servers to make sure we could handle all the download requests. Let us know if you are seeing slow downloads from our download servers. Something may be wrong on our end.

Thanks for your support.

_________________
Greg
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
VJC
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 07, 2006 - 11:45 AM



Joined: Feb 06, 2006
Posts: 2

Quote:
et us know if you are seeing slow downloads from our download servers.
That's really why I posted last nite (I'm in the UK), it took me 3hrs to download (from aroung 8pm - 11pm), Eclipse itself only took 20mins using their torrent. I'm on a 512k connection so I felt the download was excessively long, thanks for the quick reply. Vijay.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 07, 2006 - 10:01 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

Vijay,

That's an interesting datapoint for us. We test download speed regularly from locations in the US and they are typically extremely fast. However, it appears there may be some bottlenecks going overseas if that is the speed you're seeing locally. We'll look into the torrent idea a bit more for our upcoming releases. Thanks for the feedback.

_________________
--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
qasim
Post subject:   PostPosted: Aug 08, 2006 - 08:55 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: Jun 24, 2003
Posts: 18

I am downloading from the UK and the download speeds are terrible.

Quite frankly I hate downloading each new version of MyEclipse just because the download speeds are so poor.

I am achieving about 15k/sec on 8Meg line and I can achieve 300k/sec from most download sites.

Great product, please sort out the delivery mechanism
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Aug 08, 2006 - 10:26 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

That's really peculiar. In the US I'm on an 8MB line as well and am seeing over 500KB/sec even at peak load times. I don't know why the rates would vary so much overseas. Perhaps others redirect to overseas mirrors or something.

_________________
--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
stephmir
Post subject: Downloading from the Veterans Admin.  PostPosted: Sep 24, 2007 - 07:59 PM



Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 1

All sites/ mirrors I've tried are doing the same thing (starts off at about 40K/s...then trickles down to about less than 2k/s). I can download from Dell Support and HP to here without any problems. I was told by our network admin that we here at the Austin VA only have 1 proxy and it is not configurable or switchable. I was wondering if there is an alternate place to download from, maybe FTP?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bean88
Post subject: RE: Downloading from the Veterans Admin.  PostPosted: Aug 05, 2008 - 08:33 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: Sep 05, 2003
Posts: 9

My download speed today (2.1 KB/s) is very slow compared to others sites (88KB/s). Are you throttling bandwidth?

I loaded up and installed using Pulse. Transfer was faster. I don't like Pulse much though. Having a crippled before you buy plugin manager that has built in advertisements for itself isn't what I'd consider free software.

Please look into the problem with downloads.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bean88
Post subject: RE: Downloading from the Veterans Admin.  PostPosted: Aug 05, 2008 - 08:34 PM
Veteran Member
Veteran Member


Joined: Sep 05, 2003
Posts: 9

Sorry, that should be ~880 KB/s above.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
riwright
Post subject: RE: Downloading from the Veterans Admin.  PostPosted: Jan 14, 2010 - 07:48 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 16

I am seeing download speeds 40KB/Sec over a 6MB/Sec cable modem. Download speeds for other sites are fine. I had to leave the download of the new version running overnight and when I came back it had errored out and would not resume. Now I have started another 5 hour download. AAAAARRRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-joy
Post subject: RE: Downloading from the Veterans Admin.  PostPosted: Jan 18, 2010 - 08:57 AM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Feb 03, 2009
Posts: 3442

riwright,

If you don't want to download the installers afresh. Pulse is the answer to your problem, it will pick-up download from the place it error-ed out and also resolve any dependency. To use pulse, please follow the below mentioned -
1. Open pulse. If you don't have pulse download the same from www.poweredbypulse.com
2. Login to pulse. In case you don't have a pulse login, you can also login anonymously.
3. Choose your base eclipse from the left top hand corner dropdown. If you are trying to download ME 6.6 - choose "Eclipse-Europa", for ME 7.x - choose "Eclipse - Ganymede", for ME 8.x - choose "Eclipse - Galileo"
4. This will redirect you to the explorer. Under "My Profiles", it will list you all your installed MyEclipse profiles. Right click on the same - "MyEclipse x.x" and from the context menu click on [Re-install and run]. This will open a wizard which will guide you through the rest of the steps.
5. In case "My Profiles" doesn't list anything, click on Ready to use Profiles > Popular. Choose your MyEclipse version. Right click on the same, and from the context menu click on [Install and run]. This will open a wizard which will guide you through the rest of the steps.
Let me know how this works for you.

_________________
Joy
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits