MyEclipse Forums
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
douglasmhurst
Post subject: JSF links  PostPosted: Mar 10, 2012 - 05:29 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2006
Posts: 274

I can't believe there's not a way to get this to work and I'm not sure if it's a JSF problem or a MyEclipse problem

Say I want a link in a paragraph like this mylink and I want to be able to have an "action" that calls a method in one of my backing beans.

If I use a...

<h:commandLink action="#{mybean.clickMylink}" value="mylink"

... it works perfectly except for one thing. When rendered in html on a page, the paragraph now looks like this...

Say I want a link in a paragraph like this
mylink
and I want to be able to have an "action" that calls a method in one of my backing beans.

Does anyone know of a way to straighten things out? I don't know of any other JSF link type that allows an "action."
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 12, 2012 - 08:07 AM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2489

douglasmhurst ,

Sorry that you are seeing the issue. The exact issue you are facing is unclear.

Can you give more information for us to be able to replicate the issue at our end?

1) Can you share the installation details from MyEclipse > Installation Summary > Installation Details ? Paste them here.

2) Are you working with JSF 1.2 or JSF 2.0 ?

3) Can you give us a clear description of the issue and attach a screenshot of the issue to help us get a visual?. Take a look at this FAQ on how to upload attachments to the forum :
http://www.myeclipseide.com/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t-27029.html

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
douglasmhurst
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 12, 2012 - 12:42 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2006
Posts: 274

I'm using JSF 2.0. I want my put a link in the middle of a sentence. Here's what I see in the JSP/JSF editor in MyEclipse

You can view the <h:commandLink action="#{mybean.clickMylink}" value="Declaration of Independence" /> at the National Archives in Washington, D. C.

My hope is this would render the sentence as follows on my html page:

You can view the Declaration of Independence at the National Archives in Washington, D. C.

But instead, it renders the sentence as shown below

You can view the
Declaration of Independence
at the National Archives in Washington, D. C.

My question is, is there no way to put a link to a backing bean in the middle of a sentence without breaking the sentence into 3 lines when it's displayed in the browser?

Doug Hurst
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 12, 2012 - 01:12 PM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2489

Doug,

I could not replicate the issue at my end on MyEclipse 10.0.1 release.
I have created an xhtml and please find the attached screenshot of the ME Browser for your reference. I could not replicate the issue on a browser outside of MyEclipse.

Can you please share your installation details from MyEclipse > Installation Summary > Installation Details ? Also please attach a screenshot of the issue and the steps you followed for us to take a look.

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
douglasmhurst
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 12, 2012 - 01:32 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2006
Posts: 274

Here are two lines from my JSP. Neither seems to work. I'm not using facelets?

<h:outputText value="Here is some text" /><h:commandLink action="#{contactUsBean.clickSendEmail}" value="mylink" /> <h:outputText value="and here is the rest of the text."/>
<p>Here is some text <h:commandLink action="#{contactUsBean.clickSendEmail}" value="mylink" /> and here is the rest of the text."</p>


*** Date:
Monday, March 12, 2012 8:24:38 AM EDT

** System properties:
OS=WindowsVista
OS version=6.1.0
Java version=1.6.0_13


*** MyEclipse details:
MyEclipse Enterprise Workbench
Version: 10.0
Build id: 10.0-20111028


*** Eclipse details:
MyEclipse Enterprise Workbench

Version: 10.0
Build id: 10.0-20111028






Eclipse startup command=-os
win32
-ws
win32
-arch
x86
-showsplash
-launcher
C:\Users\hurstd\AppData\Local\MyEclipse\MyEclipse 10\myeclipse.exe
-name
Myeclipse
--launcher.library
C:\Users\hurstd\AppData\Local\MyEclipse\MyEclipse 10\../Common/plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.i18n.win32.win32.x86_3.2.0.v201103301700\eclipse_3215.dll
-startup
C:\Users\hurstd\AppData\Local\MyEclipse\MyEclipse 10\../Common/plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.2.0.v20110502.jar
-install
C:\Users\hurstd\AppData\Local\MyEclipse\MyEclipse 10
-configuration
C:\Users\hurstd\AppData\Local\MyEclipse\MyEclipse 10\configuration
-vm
C:\Users\hurstd\AppData\Local\MyEclipse\Common\binary\com.sun.java.jdk.win32.x86_1.6.0.013\jre\bin\client\jvm.dll
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-swapna
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 13, 2012 - 10:57 AM



Joined: Nov 11, 2010
Posts: 2489

Doug,

Thank you for the visuals. I could not replicate the issue even after trying with different pages.

I suggest you check with our Example project. Go to MyEclipse > Examples On Demand > MyBlogJSFJPAExample.Click "Install Project" to install the project to your workspace.Upgrade the project when it prompts to and make the required changes to the project and check if you see the same issue.

Let us know how it works for you.

_________________
Swapna
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
douglasmhurst
Post subject:   PostPosted: Mar 13, 2012 - 12:08 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2006
Posts: 274

support-swapna wrote:
Doug,

Thank you for the visuals. I could not replicate the issue even after trying with different pages.

I suggest you check with our Example project. Go to MyEclipse > Examples On Demand > MyBlogJSFJPAExample.Click "Install Project" to install the project to your workspace.Upgrade the project when it prompts to and make the required changes to the project and check if you see the same issue.

Let us know how it works for you.


I'll try it from home and let you know. We can't import from examples on demand here at work... firewall issues.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits