MyEclipse Forums
This thread has been locked & this forum has been archived.
Please post new topics to General Development
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
cmnewcomer
Post subject: Adding new stereotype  PostPosted: Apr 10, 2006 - 10:49 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Apr 08, 2006
Posts: 3

I'm trying to add a new stereotype as outlined in the Part 1 - J2EE Application Modeling with MyEclipse UML and seem to having a problem. The tutorial has the following steps:

1. Select any class in the class diagram.
2. Select the properties tab.
3. Select any stereotype from the drop-down list.
4. Select the button next to the stereotype field (<).
5. Select the New Stereotype icon (<<>>).
6. Enter "Entity" for the name of the new stereotype.

After following the above steps, I get a new Stereotype at the UML Model level but I can not select or see the newly created Stereotype drop-down from the class properties tab. In addition, it appears to add a second stereotype with the same name as the stereotype used to access the Stereotype properties tab for adding a new one. The Sterotype drop-down from the class properties now shows two stereotypes with the same name.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards.

Carl
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-kapil
Post subject:   PostPosted: Apr 11, 2006 - 12:36 AM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Dec 13, 2004
Posts: 340

Carl,
After step #4. When you hit New Streotype , the sterotype you create will be of the base type "Stereotype" and cannot be assigned to a class. You need to make a streotype of the base class "Class" so that it can be used with a class.
You can skip step #3 and #4 here. So that when you hit a new streotype with the class freshly selected you end up creating a streotype of the type "class" automatically.

FYI: We fixed a few bugs w/ streotypes in recent versions. Please make sure you've upgraded to the laest version to avoid experiencing fixed issues.
Thanks,
Kapil

_________________
Kapil
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
cmnewcomer
Post subject:   PostPosted: Apr 11, 2006 - 02:11 AM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Apr 08, 2006
Posts: 3

Kapil,

Firstly, thanks for the quick responses on my questions. It is greatly appreciated.

Here are the version's I'm running:

MyEclipse
Version: 4.1.1
Build id: 20060309-4.1.1-GA

Eclipse
Version: 3.1.2
Build id: M20060118-1600

It took me a few minutes but I finally realized that the Properties tab had a New Stereotype (<<>>) toolbar icon. That seems to have worked.

Are the versions I'm using the most recent?

Best Regards.

Carl
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-kapil
Post subject:   PostPosted: Apr 11, 2006 - 08:55 AM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Dec 13, 2004
Posts: 340

Yes, your version is up to date. Glad you got it working.

_________________
Kapil
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits