MyEclipse Forums
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
srau
Post subject: Tomcat/IDE hangs when break point is set [Closed]  PostPosted: Jul 08, 2003 - 02:10 AM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jun 23, 2003
Posts: 20

Hi - We are using Tomcat 4.1.24 with Eclipse 2.1 and the EA workbench. I can deploy and start the application. However, when I insert a breakpoint, Tomcat/Eclipse IDE seems to hang and we can never step through the code.

I see two java processes in the task manager (ide and tomcat) but nothing seems to happen. This is very easy to reproduce in our environment.

Do you have any suggestions on what we can do ? Is this an IDE bug or a plugin problem ? I have 512mb on my desktop so that should be ample to run our application.

Thanks
S Rau
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 08, 2003 - 03:12 AM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

Could it be that you're just stopped at the breakpoint, but don't realize it because you're not looking at the Debug View in the Debug Perspective?

--Scott
MyEclipse Support

_________________
--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
srau
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 08, 2003 - 07:15 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jun 23, 2003
Posts: 20

No :) That's not the case.

I did check and make sure that we had not stopped at the breakpoint.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 08, 2003 - 07:34 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

Just thought I'd check. This has actually confused a large number of people. :-)

In all honesty, we've never seen or heard about anything like you describe. Would you verify that you're using Eclipse 2.1, not 2.1.1 or an "M" build? When you say the IDE is non-responsive, does that mean every view in every perspective? Also, were are you trying to set the breakpoint in general; what type of code is it? When you deploy, I assume you're using our deployer and not modifying the Tomcat server.xml file to add a context, correct? Is this reproducable on other machines? What specific JDK version are you using, both to launch Eclipse and to run Tomcat? Have you tried a different one? Can you narrow it down to an exact set of steps to reproduce the problem? Can you think of anything that is the least bit unique about your environment or configuration?

--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
mstamp
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 15, 2003 - 08:29 PM



Joined: Jul 11, 2003
Posts: 6

Scott -

I'm experiencing the same problem (place breakpoint(s) in HelloWorldServlet.java, hit the servlet in the browser, browser hangs, but IDE debugger doesn't get activated, i.e., can't step through code). I'm using Eclipse 2.1.0, MyEclipse 2.1.1, Tomcat 5.0.4 (get the same result with Tomcat 5.0.3), Win 2k Pro...

Thanks,

Mike Stamp
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wk5657
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 15, 2003 - 08:49 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jun 17, 2003
Posts: 88

mstamp wrote:
Scott -

I'm experiencing the same problem (place breakpoint(s) in HelloWorldServlet.java, hit the servlet in the browser, browser hangs, but IDE debugger doesn't get activated, i.e., can't step through code). I'm using Eclipse 2.1.0, MyEclipse 2.1.1, Tomcat 5.0.4 (get the same result with Tomcat 5.0.3), Win 2k Pro...

Thanks,

Mike Stamp
It would be interesting to know if the servlet executes properly if there are no breakpoints. If not that servlet, any servlet that you have full source for.and that is running from WEB-INF/classes after having the source in the source folder.

Wayne
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 15, 2003 - 09:57 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

Another thing to remember is that Eclipse may not always take you to the Debug Perspective -> Debug view when a breakpoint is encountered. It's based on your preference settings. When you think you should be at a breakpoint, manually open the Debug View and check the thread states of all the Tomcat threads. Any of them suspended?

--Scott
MyEclipse Support

_________________
--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
mstamp
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 16, 2003 - 12:02 AM



Joined: Jul 11, 2003
Posts: 6

Wayne: The servlet runs and produces output with no problems when no breakpoints are set.

Scott: I manually switch to the Debug view when I should be at a breakpoint, and all of the threads are "Running", none suspended.

FWIW, I've noticed that the app server won't shut down properly if a breakpoint is set (can still see the javaw.exe in Task Mgr and can't restart the app server).

Also, I'm seeing all of the same behavior using WebLogic Server 8.1 now, as well as Tomcat.

Thanks
mstamp
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 16, 2003 - 12:21 AM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

Interesting. Do you have any problem debugging other, non-server, Java applications? Are any exceptions displayed in the Eclipse log file at <workbench>/.metainf/.log? If there are, please do not post the XML to the forum (the software hates XML). A brief summary or small stacktrace is great, as long as you change all the angle brackets for square ones.

--Scott
MyEclipse Support

_________________
--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
mstamp
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 16, 2003 - 05:23 PM



Joined: Jul 11, 2003
Posts: 6

scott wrote:
Interesting. Do you have any problem debugging other, non-server, Java applications? Are any exceptions displayed in the Eclipse log file at <workbench>/.metainf/.log? If there are, please do not post the XML to the forum (the software hates XML). A brief summary or small stacktrace is great, as long as you change all the angle brackets for square ones.

--Scott
MyEclipse Support

When I start Eclipse, this message gets logged to .metadata\.log:

!ENTRY com.genuitec.eclipse.ast.deploy.core 1 1 Jul 16, 2003 10:55:27.313
!MESSAGE Can't find resource bundle 'com.genuitec.eclipse.ast.deploy.core.configuration'. Exception: java.util.MissingResourceException: Can't find bundle for base name com.genuitec.eclipse.ast.deploy.core.configuration.properties, locale en_US
!SESSION Jul 16, 2003 11:02:11.519 ---------------------------------------------
java.version=1.4.0_01
java.vendor=Sun Microsystems Inc.
BootLoader constants: OS=win32, ARCH=x86, WS=win32, NL=en_US
Command-line arguments: -os win32 -ws win32 -arch x86 -data c:\EclipseWorkspace -install file:C:/Eclipse21/

mstamp
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 16, 2003 - 05:45 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

Actually, that's a message about an unused resource bundle being unavailable. It's not really a problem. What about the other quesitons?

--Scott
MyEclipse Support

_________________
--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
wk5657
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 16, 2003 - 07:43 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jun 17, 2003
Posts: 88

It sure sounds like the ide is finding the class somewhere besides WEB-INF/classes. Is there a version of the same class in common/lib or somewhere else not associated with your java source files. What I am saying here is that the debugger breaks on classes that correspond to what is found in the java sources. If you have un-jarred some class out of the libraries to test, but the library is still in the classpath, the debugger could fail to recognize a match until it is too late. This should produce an error in the tomcat logs "\tomcat4\logs\..."


Wayne
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
bedmonston
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 16, 2003 - 07:45 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2003
Posts: 25

I am having the same problem with WebLogic. 7. I saw the following in my log:

Command-line arguments: -os win32 -ws win32 -arch x86 -install file:C:/eclipse/
!ENTRY com.genuitec.eclipse.ast.deploy.core 1 1 Jul 16, 2003 13:55:03.46
!MESSAGE Can't find resource bundle 'com.genuitec.eclipse.ast.deploy.core.configuration'. Exception: java.util.MissingResourceException: Can't find bundle for base name com.genuitec.eclipse.ast.deploy.core.configuration.properties, locale en_US
!ENTRY XMLBuilderPlugin 4 0 Jul 16, 2003 14:00:59.125
!MESSAGE Connection refused: connect
!STACK 0
java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused: connect
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.doConnect(PlainSocketImpl.java:350)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(PlainSocketImpl.java:137)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(PlainSocketImpl.java:124)
at java.net.Socket.(Socket.java:268)
at java.net.Socket.(Socket.java:95)
at sun.net.NetworkClient.doConnect(NetworkClient.java:45)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(HttpClient.java:334)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(HttpClient.java:520)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.(HttpClient.java:270)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.(HttpClient.java:280)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.New(HttpClient.java:292)
at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.connect(HttpURLConnection.java:417)
at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getInputStream(HttpURLConnection.java:510)
at java.net.URL.openStream(URL.java:793)
at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLEntityManager.startEntity(XMLEntityManager.java:748)
at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLEntityManager.startDTDEntity(XMLEntityManager.java:708)
at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLDTDScannerImpl.setInputSource(XMLDTDScannerImpl.java:258)
at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLDocumentScannerImpl$DTDDispatcher.dispatch(XMLDocumentScannerImpl.java:810)
at org.apache.xerces.impl.XMLDocumentFragmentScannerImpl.scanDocument(XMLDocumentFragmentScannerImpl.java:333)
at org.apache.xerces.parsers.StandardParserConfiguration.parse(StandardParserConfiguration.java:525)
at org.apache.xerces.parsers.StandardParserConfiguration.parse(StandardParserConfiguration.java:581)
at org.apache.xerces.parsers.XMLParser.parse(XMLParser.java:147)
at org.apache.xerces.parsers.AbstractSAXParser.parse(AbstractSAXParser.java:1158)
at com.genuitec.eclipse.j2eedt.core.builder.XMLResourceParser.parse(Unknown Source)
at com.genuitec.eclipse.j2eedt.core.builder.XMLResourceParser.parse(Unknown Source)
at com.genuitec.eclipse.j2eedt.core.builder.XMLValidationChecker.checkFile(Unknown Source)
at com.genuitec.eclipse.j2eedt.core.builder.DeploymentDescriptorValidator.ā(Unknown Source)
at com.genuitec.eclipse.j2eedt.core.builder.DeploymentDescriptorValidator.access$0(Unknown Source)
at com.genuitec.eclipse.j2eedt.core.builder.DeploymentDescriptorValidator$A.visit(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.ResourceDelta.accept(ResourceDelta.java:71)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.ResourceDelta.accept(ResourceDelta.java:79)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.ResourceDelta.accept(ResourceDelta.java:79)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.ResourceDelta.accept(ResourceDelta.java:79)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.ResourceDelta.accept(ResourceDelta.java:52)
at com.genuitec.eclipse.j2eedt.core.builder.DeploymentDescriptorValidator.ā(Unknown Source)
at com.genuitec.eclipse.j2eedt.core.builder.DeploymentDescriptorValidator.build(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager$2.run(BuildManager.java:427)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.runtime.InternalPlatform.run(InternalPlatform.java:889)
at org.eclipse.core.runtime.Platform.run(Platform.java:413)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.basicBuild(BuildManager.java:125)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.basicBuild(BuildManager.java:181)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.basicBuild(BuildManager.java:191)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager$1.run(BuildManager.java:151)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.runtime.InternalPlatform.run(InternalPlatform.java:889)
at org.eclipse.core.runtime.Platform.run(Platform.java:413)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.basicBuild(BuildManager.java:165)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.basicBuildLoop(BuildManager.java:243)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.events.BuildManager.build(BuildManager.java:212)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.resources.Workspace.endOperation(Workspace.java:884)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.resources.Workspace.run(Workspace.java:1600)
at org.eclipse.ui.actions.WorkspaceModifyOperation.run(WorkspaceModifyOperation.java:85)
at org.eclipse.jface.operation.ModalContext$ModalContextThread.run(ModalContext.java:101)
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
mstamp
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 16, 2003 - 08:31 PM



Joined: Jul 11, 2003
Posts: 6

scott wrote:
Actually, that's a message about an unused resource bundle being unavailable. It's not really a problem. What about the other quesitons?

--Scott
MyEclipse Support

Scott,

I tried debugging a non-server Java app, and got the same result: execution did not stop at my breakpoint. So I uninstalled MyEclipse, then tried to debug the non-server app again, and this time it worked. Once I reinstalled MyEclipse and tried to debug the same app, it failed again.

mstamp
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-scott
Post subject:   PostPosted: Jul 16, 2003 - 08:54 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: May 06, 2003
Posts: 6761

That's peculiar. I do notice from the log entry that you're using 1.4.0_01. These older JDK 1.4 versions had problems with their debugging implementations. Would you mind installing 1.4.1_03 and then try launching and debugging both a "regular" java application and a server application with MyEclipse installed and see if the results are different. Remember, you'll have to add the new JDK to the workspace and modify it in the launch configuration for the "regular" app and on the [appserver]/JDK page for the server connector.

--Scott
MyEclipse Support

_________________
--Scott
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits