MyEclipse Forums
This thread has been locked & this forum has been archived.
Please post new topics to Java EE Development (EJB, JSP, Struts, XDoclet, etc.)
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
sbergsveinsson
Post subject: Select stored procedure option not showing in Data Set Type  PostPosted: Oct 06, 2009 - 06:22 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Feb 16, 2009
Posts: 8

Hi,
I have an Oracle 10g Database and I am trying to call the stored procedure with MyEclipse Reports, unfortunately it doesn't give me the option to select stored procedure in Data Set Type, since the only option that I have is SQL Select Query. How can I call the stored procedure, if I don't have the option in Data Set Type?
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thank you,
Sofia
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-nipun
Post subject: RE: Select stored procedure option not showing in Data Set T  PostPosted: Oct 07, 2009 - 06:17 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Apr 18, 2007
Posts: 8012

Sofia,
Can you go to MyEclipse > Installation Summary > Installation Details and paste them here for me. I will get some one from the dev team to look into this issue.

BTW I hope these are the steps you followed:-
http://www.birt-exchange.org/devshare/designing-birt-reports/447-using-stored-procedures-with-birt/#description

_________________
Nipun
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
sbergsveinsson
Post subject:   PostPosted: Oct 07, 2009 - 06:24 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Feb 16, 2009
Posts: 8

Hello,

Below are the installation details. I followed the steps in the link below and it didn't work.

*** Date:
Wednesday, October 7, 2009 1:20:34 PM EDT

** System properties:
OS=WindowsXP
OS version=5.1.0
Java version=1.6.0_13


*** MyEclipse details:
MyEclipse Enterprise Workbench
Version: 8.0M1
Build id: 8.0M1-20090924


*** Eclipse details:
MyEclipse Enterprise Workbench

Version: 8.0M1
Build id: 8.0M1-20090924






Eclipse startup command=-os
win32
-ws
win32
-arch
x86
-showsplash
-launcher
C:\Program Files\Genuitec\MyEclipse 8.x Latest\myeclipse.exe
-name
Myeclipse
--launcher.library
C:\Program Files\Genuitec\MyEclipse 8.x Latest\../Common/plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.win32.win32.x86_1.0.200.v20090519\eclipse_1206.dll
-startup
C:\Program Files\Genuitec\MyEclipse 8.x Latest\../Common/plugins/org.eclipse.equinox.launcher_1.0.200.v20090520.jar
-clean
-install
C:/Program Files/Genuitec/MyEclipse 8.x Latest
-configuration
configuration
-clean
-vm
C:/Program Files/Genuitec/Common/binary/com.sun.java.jdk.win32.x86_1.6.0.013/jre/bin/client/jvm.dll

Thanks,
Sofia
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sbergsveinsson
Post subject:   PostPosted: Oct 08, 2009 - 04:34 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Feb 16, 2009
Posts: 8

Any news to the above issue?

Thanks,
Sofia
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-nipun
Post subject:   PostPosted: Oct 08, 2009 - 08:32 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Apr 18, 2007
Posts: 8012

Sofia,
Im afraid the person who would be looking into this issue is on leave today. I will get him to reply to your post first thing tomorrow.

_________________
Nipun
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
sbergsveinsson
Post subject:   PostPosted: Oct 12, 2009 - 06:59 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Feb 16, 2009
Posts: 8

Hi Nipun,

Do you have any news about the issue?
I need to finish my project as soon as possible.
Thanks,
Sofia
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Support-Brian
Post subject:   PostPosted: Oct 12, 2009 - 09:26 PM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 21, 2004
Posts: 2584

Sofia,

Sorry for the delayed response.
I'm afraid that for this functionality, a special data set type - "The Stored Procedure Query" type is required, which is not currently support by the MyEclipse Data Source. I cannot recommend any workarounds right now, currently MyEclipse Reports will only support standard select JDBC.

I have filed a feature request to add support for this query type, but cannot commit to an availability date.

Please let us know if you have further queries or need assistance, sorry for the inconvenience caused.

_________________
Brian
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
sbergsveinsson
Post subject:   PostPosted: Oct 13, 2009 - 04:30 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Feb 16, 2009
Posts: 8

Hi Brian,

Do you know if I can use another reporting tool that will work with oracle stored procedures? I know that Jasper doesn't support it either.
Do you know If I can use microsoft reporting services instead of birt and send the parameters from my jboss-seam application?

Thanks,
Sofia
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sbergsveinsson
Post subject:   PostPosted: Oct 19, 2009 - 03:39 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Feb 16, 2009
Posts: 8

Brian,

I managed to pull the data from the oracle stored procedure in the birt report by creating a stored function to retrieve the results of the stored procedure.
I have a question, how do you send the parameters and call the birt report from the jboss-seam application? Do you have an example?

Thanks,
Sofia
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
support-nipun
Post subject:   PostPosted: Oct 20, 2009 - 09:10 PM
Registered Member
Registered Member


Joined: Apr 18, 2007
Posts: 8012

Sofia,
We're consulting with someone with more experience in reporting to get an answer. We will get back to you with a reply asap.

_________________
Nipun
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
Support-Brian
Post subject:   PostPosted: Oct 21, 2009 - 12:29 AM
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: Aug 21, 2004
Posts: 2584

Sofia,

Here are some documents that should help you get going from Seam.

Slides from JBossWorld
http://www.birt-exchange.org/devshare/deploying-birt-reports/1008-getting-birt-y-with-jboss/#description

BIRT Integration introduced
http://docs.jboss.org/tools/whatsnew/birt/birt-news-1.0.0.Alpha1.html

Reference Guide
http://docs.jboss.org/tools/3.0.1.GA/en/jboss_birt_plugin_ref_guide/pdf/Birt_Reference_Guide.pdf

You may also want to look at (older integration):
http://wiki.eclipse.org/Seam_%28BIRT%29_Recipe

Please let us know if you need further assistance, I hope this helps.

_________________
Brian
MyEclipse Support
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
jbain
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 11, 2011 - 12:07 AM



Joined: Jan 25, 2011
Posts: 5

Is there any timeframe of getting the Stored Procedure Query option in the Data Set Types back?
I know the option is there in Eclipse but not in MyEclipse.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jbain
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 11, 2011 - 04:55 PM



Joined: Jan 25, 2011
Posts: 5

I am new to MyEclipse and have done my research looking for any means to call a stored procedue in Oracle.

I am currently using MyEclipse 8.6.1 and have even downloaded and configured MyEclipse 9.0 M2 to see if the functionality allowing me to choose the SQL Stored Procedure Query as an elibile data set type but it does not.

In my research I have downloaded Eclipse 3.3.2 with the BIRT 2.2.2 plugin the option to choose SQL Stored Procedure Query is there and it woks great. However, we are not using that tool.

Why would this functionality be there in an old version of Eclipse and when I am using MyEcllipse 9.0 M2 with an Eclipse Engine 3.6.1 the functionality is not there.

I have tried to get around this by configuring the Oracle OCI driver in MyEclipse (thinking that it would run native Oracle SQL server side) and it configured successfully but the Data Set functionality will still not allow me to call the function I created even within a SQL statement. It is as if it can not see the function.

If you can direct me in any way I would greatly appreciate it.

Take care,

John
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jbain
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 11, 2011 - 04:56 PM



Joined: Jan 25, 2011
Posts: 5

I am new to MyEclipse and have done my research looking for any means to call a stored procedue in Oracle.

I am currently using MyEclipse 8.6.1 and have even downloaded and configured MyEclipse 9.0 M2 to see if the functionality allowing me to choose the SQL Stored Procedure Query as an elibile data set type but it does not.

In my research I have downloaded Eclipse 3.3.2 with the BIRT 2.2.2 plugin the option to choose SQL Stored Procedure Query is there and it woks great. However, we are not using that tool.

Why would this functionality be there in an old version of Eclipse and when I am using MyEcllipse 9.0 M2 with an Eclipse Engine 3.6.1 the functionality is not there.

I have tried to get around this by configuring the Oracle OCI driver in MyEclipse (thinking that it would run native Oracle SQL server side) and it configured successfully but the Data Set functionality will still not allow me to call the function I created even within a SQL statement. It is as if it can not see the function.

If you can direct me in any way I would greatly appreciate it.

Take care,

John
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jbain
Post subject:   PostPosted: Feb 11, 2011 - 04:59 PM



Joined: Jan 25, 2011
Posts: 5

I am new to MyEclipse and have done my research looking for any means to call a stored procedue in Oracle.

I am currently using MyEclipse 8.6.1 and have even downloaded and configured MyEclipse 9.0 M2 to see if the functionality allowing me to choose the SQL Stored Procedure Query as an elibile data set type but it does not.

In my research I have downloaded Eclipse 3.3.2 with the BIRT 2.2.2 plugin the option to choose SQL Stored Procedure Query is there and it woks great. However, we are not using that tool.

Why would this functionality be there in an old version of Eclipse and when I am using MyEcllipse 9.0 M2 with an Eclipse Engine 3.6.1 the functionality is not there.

I have tried to get around this by configuring the Oracle OCI driver in MyEclipse (thinking that it would run native Oracle SQL server side) and it configured successfully but the Data Set functionality will still not allow me to call the function I created even within a SQL statement. It is as if it can not see the function.

If you can direct me in any way I would greatly appreciate it.

Take care,

John
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2004 The PNphpBB Group
Credits