facebook

Missing Eclipse 2.x PVCS Integration with Eclipse 3.0?

1. MyEclipse IDE
  2.  > 
  3. Comments

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author

Jason Hobbs
    Participant

Just add the xerces plugin folders from your 2.x eclipse installation to the 3.x plugin folder, and the Merant 2.1 plugin for Eclipse will work in 3.0 without a hitch! (Although it will still be a pain in the ass to install in the first place ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Good luck!

#210054 Reply

Scott Anderson
    Participant

Jason,

Nice tip! Thanks for letting everyone know.

#211326 Reply

What version of PVCS are you utilizing, and who’s PVCS plugin. I have seen a couple, and had luck with none of them. As I am just a contractor, I cannot convince the company to change software, so if I could find a decent plugin and get it to work for eclipse, my life would be much easier. We are currently on PVCS 7.5 here.

#211926 Reply

Jason Hobbs
    Participant

I’m using 7.5 here with a tweaked version of Merant’s plugin.

Now, when I say ‘tweaked’, I mean, “made to work” since it doesn’t out of the box. In fact, it’s just plain wrong out of the box.

Two patches are required for the PVCS plugin to work with eclipse.

This should set you on the right path:

Install PVCS 7.5, adding the eclipse integration. When it asks for an eclipse location, don’t bother since it won’t recognize 3.x as a working installation. Just continue.

Patch PVCS to 7.5.1.5 – Download available from Merant’s site

Patch PVCS to 7.5.2.7 – This includes Eclipse 2.1 functionality.

Now go into:
    {PVCS Install Folder}\VM\devint\eclipse2.1

the layout of this folder is incorrect OOTB. It SHOULD be:

eclipse2.1
          eclipse
               features
                   com.merant.team.pvcs_2.0.9
               plugins
                   com.merant.team.pvcs.docs_2.0.9
                   com.merant.team.pvcs_2.0.9